14

Today would have been my little Ricky’s 14th birthday. I still remember my parents getting the phone call that our Freddy boy’s baby’s mama had given birth to nine puppies. I couldn’t wait to get to their house and play with all of them. They were the cutest little things I had ever seen! I think my mom took my brother and I just about every day to hang out with the little guys. Rick’s poor mom was so tired of them that she had to get stitches on her tummy, from jumping the neighbors barbed wire fence. They were so big at five weeks old that my dad asked me “if I thought I was going to be able to sleep if I didn’t bring my new brother home?” I was so excited, but didn’t know what I was in for. I was going to be Rickerd’s mom, and have to sleep in the family room which is adjacent to the kitchen where my kid was to sleep. I don’t think he ever slept that night, he cried and cried and cried for his mama. I thought it was cute at first until the second, and third night came around. I programmed myself to sleep through it, while my parents got up with him. They’d ask…didn’t you hear that? Hear what, I thought? He’d sleep eventually! It got to the point that my little guy knew exactly where I was sleeping, would jump the gate my parents put up and would curl up on top of my hair or on my warm fleece Phoenix Suns blanket. Oh yeah, that reminds me…I really wanted to name him “Charles Barkley” after my favorite person behind my mom and grandpa, but my mom was on this “I Love Lucy” kick and we had to go with the shows theme. All that’s left is an Ethel!

Ricky may have sounded like the sweetest guy on earth, but that’s only because I’m telling the story. He got me in more than a couple fights with my neighbor, which taught me that I’m not as non-confrontational as I once thought I was, and gave me the ability to relax when things were in turmoil. One things for sure, and that’s that I miss my best buddy more than you could ever know! Did I mention that he liked to swallow gloves whole, bags of Ruffles potato chips (whole), would sneak over to the neighbors yard to steal her cat food, and once gave me a bloody nose?  If that isn’t love, I really don’t know what love is! lol

 

babyRicky as a puppy~ He actually put that hole in his dog house, by sitting on top of it, and digging. He thought it would be cute to stick his head out of it. Needless to say, I feel this is the best picture I’ve ever taken. 

 

Happy Birthday Ricky Charles! Your sissa misses you more than you could ever know!!!!! 

12 Responses

  1. What a sweet tribute for a beautiful dog!

  2. awwwwwwwwwwwwwww, how sweet – I’m so sorry for your loss

  3. He sounds awesome to me!!! I might be a little biased too 😉

    I have had the bloody nose, stitches and swallowed underwear in my case, but those are very low fees for a great best friend 🙂

    Happy B-Day to him in doggy heaven!

  4. He is absolutely beautiful. Happy Birthday, Ricky! I hope you’re not chasing my cats around up there. 😉

  5. Aw, what a sweet puppy face! He sounds like he was the cutest, naughtiest little dog! And I LOVE Charles Barkley! That’s so funny.

  6. Oh honey! It is so beautiful how animals truly become part of the family. Ricky was very blessed to have you as his owner and best friend. You definitely have a guardian angel watching after you!

    Happy birthday ricky!!

    I love you!

  7. he is so sweet, look at those eyes!!
    i will give sassy a hug and kiss for you tonight, when she sleeps on my hair!!! must be a weimer thing! she loves to curl around me.

    ricky looks soooo sweet!

  8. Awww it must be a Weim thing then! Has she given you a bloody nose yet? lol

  9. oh, my gosh! cutest picture of the cutest dog! i can see why you miss him so much—after reading and seeing that pic.

    i feel like i haven’t been over here in a while! i was sick, and not getting around to all my usual favorite blogs.

    good to be back and find you’re sweet ricky post. 🙂

  10. oh tooo sweet! Happy Birthday!

  11. awww girl you made me teary eyed!! I love Ricky!

  12. Such a great post, he’s so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

