Yes We Can!!!

While I’ve made it a point not to talk about the election on this blog and in the past on my previous one, I can hardly contain myself. I live in a very rural community, where people brag about racism, and tell my family you’re not that Mexican, look at the color of your skin. The night my grandma passed out a few years ago the fire chief asked us which hospital we wanted her transported to? When we said _____, he asked
“are you sure? They don’t have people of our kind and color there.” Had he actually read her chart he would have realized my grandmother’s surname is Perez. It’s a blessing he didn’t!!!

Another time I witnessed men sitting in the back of a pickup truck parked in front of an African American household, waving Confederate flags and one with a skeleton on it. I think thank god I’m of Hispanic descent, living in an area as beautiful can be, but filled with such ignorance. I’ve often wondered if I’d be like them if I didn’t have my culture, and my upbringing since the only common ground we have is our place of residence? But then I’m reminded of the person I am, my values and how I can’t bare to see anyone suffer. I feel just as bad for animals when they’re abused, as I do human beings being taken advantage of.

My mom and I never said anything about the fire chief, even though I desperately wanted to. If my grandmother didn’t live with us, and she wasn’t ill I would have done everything in my power to seek change. Most importantly I want to make sure my grandmother has adequate health care and would never jeopardize that. Her life and the lives of my loved ones mean more to me than life itself. The thought that my mother will have health care, if Barack’s Universal health care passes brings me great joy. The fact that he has inspired so many people makes me emotional.

I wanted an Obama sign in our yard but we were afraid of what people might say or do. About a month ago our neighbor posted a McCain sign in her yard. My mother and I looked at each other, and for the first time we weren’t fearful. I searched high and low on the internet, asked friends, and looked just about everywhere. If you might recall I mentioned in my Vintage Antique post that my best find was the sign I had been looking for. I’m thrilled to say it was this sign right below. I am so proud of my country, I’m so proud of my President!!! Thank you for the joy he has brought us, and the family values he holds so dear. I can think of a million reasons why I’m proud to call him my president, and those are the tip of the iceberg. God Bless America!!!!!!

Home

Home

24 Responses

  1. Wonderful post, my dear! We’re all full of hope and wishing for change. We need it! 🙂

  2. Makes 2 of us, I can hardly contain myself either! Look at this email I received from a black co-worker, it’s lovely http://callitlovely.blogspot.com. Hope you have a wonderful day! Sarah {part of the pink-heels blog network}

  3. Where you live sounds a lot like my area also….Let`s just say I felt like the only one on about 100 mile radius that was an Obama supporter. My friends and i would get into arguments about it at parties, everyone I know is a republican, and at work I would get anti Obama e-mails…However, I am so happy that goodness and prosperity won over hate. Good things are coming.

  4. Wonderful post Candi! Wonderful post!

  5. Yesterday was an amazing leap for this country I am confident in our choice and I am so excited for what the future holds! Thanks for sharing your touching story….

  6. C,
    I know the area you speak of which is why I live in San Francisco even though my family is still in Stockton. I am so excited about and for our country this morning. And anxious to see what we can all continue to do to support our commander in chief. It is a good time to be in America!
    Lisa & Alfie

  7. BEAUTIFUL post. Between us, our neighbor and the two neighbors across the street we had an Obama sign, a McCain sign, a NO on Prop 8 sign and a YES on prop 8 sign. My husband and I braced ourselves but everyone still got along beautifully. My neighbor even brought over popcorn balls and wished us luck in the election. It was beautiful!

  8. omg…brilliant. under the john deer flag. so brilliant!

    I am so naive to think that racism doesn’t exist any more. I am always blown away when I hear of it. sigh*

  9. Yay, good for you! I’m so happy with everything that happened yesterday – what a fantastic future we have to look forward to!

  10. beautifully written my dear…xo

  11. Good for you! It’s so hard to stand up for what you believe in sometimes, and especially matters of politics and religion (and of course race). So I’m glad you are strong enough to say what you want and be accepting of others, too 🙂

  12. What an incredible post! You are so brave and so inspiring 🙂 I feel like there’s a change in the air. I feel like we don’t have to settle for the lowest common denominator any more, we don’t have to speak like hicks to be “true America!” Thank you for this post, thank you for putting that sign up in your yard!

    I’m so excited to see where we go next!

  13. what a great post, I’m so glad that you had the gumption to put your sign up in your yard! I also hope that you’ll start to see some real change in your community, what happened last night was a real tide change and it may do a lot to finally wash away some of the last vestiges of backwardness that are remaining here in our country.

  14. Awesome post Candi! I’m so thrilled! I haven’t stopped smiling yet. I’m so glad that our country came together to overcome fear and hate and elect someone that can bring the change we so desperately need. I’m so glad you found your sign!

  15. brilliant post.
    i guess, inherently, i know places like where you live still exist but…you’re post really made it ‘real’ for me. i guess living in a big city (toronto) that is such a cultural mash up we don’t see these kind of things outright the way you do.

    i’m so proud you and your family stood up and made your voices heard in your community. *clapping*

    i’m not american but i dont think you have to be to appreciate, be proud and excited about what has happened in the US. i held an election party last night in new jersey and am seriously considering getting a bus load of folks from toronto (my home) or at least a car full and making a road trip to washington for jan.20.

    yes america! yes you can and yes you did!

  16. Such a touching post. Thank you for being brave enough to post that sign. And I am thinking about you and your grandmother all the way from here in Marrakech.

    Warm wishes,
    Maryam

  17. you say it girl and use that wonderful voice of yours! Thanks so much for sharing this. It’s awesome to read others views, beliefs and opinions. It’s what makes this country great!! Obama has a long road ahead of him and I am supporting him all the way. I live in one of the most diverse cities – Dallas- so it’s very rare I see any racism but believe me it still happens. After all it is Texas.

    Many hugs to you and your family.

  18. what a lovely post…so touching. two days later, i’m still feeling emotional. we have a long way to go, but i am so hopeful for the future, and for the first time in eight long years, i am proud to be an american.

    sending love and good juju! xo

  19. Hi Candi,

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and for your sweet comments! I adore your blog too—and the flowers in your Flickr photostream are making me so happy 🙂

    This is a great post—I’m so thrilled with the election results as well. And something that I’ve enjoyed just as much as seeing such a great leader elected, is hearing the stories of how he is inspiring my fellow citizens all over the country. Thank you so much for sharing yours! Yet more evidence of his ability to bring us together…

    xoxo
    Anne @ The City Sage

  20. Thank you so much for coming by my blog. Really lovely to discover your blog. And, this is a really beautiful and touching post.

    Today I was remembering a woman I used to work with who shared with me that as a little girl in the south she was chased by Klan members. Adult men chasing a little black girl. I cry just thinking about it. I so wonder how she feels witnessing this momentous time in history.

  21. good for you!!!

  22. It’s so so sad to know it’s 2008 and such ignorance and intolerance still exists to this day. I truly hope that things will start to get better.

  23. Beautiful post. What an inspiring week!!

  24. I loved reading this. Thank you so much for sharing it. “not that Mexican”…this reminds me of what people would say to my family when they heard us speaking Spanish…”what are you Mexican or Puerto Rican?” I didn’t realize we could only be one or the other a s Latinos.

    I am so proud of what this country has done with our new President.

Leave a Reply

