Not A Happy Camper!

I’ve been trying to take pictures of the Canadian Honkers across the field (from my house) for the last week or so. These beautiful birds land there every fall. The photos I initially took turned out blurry, and I wasn’t sure if I’d ever get a clear shot. Last night they were closer than usual. I went into my neighbors field, and underneath the barbed wire fence to take a few photos. I was so happy with the way they turned out, clear as can be, with purple and orange sky behind them.

I didn’t give my camera another thought until tonight when my mom was cutting the most beautiful bouquets for a local shop, where she occasionally sells her mixed floral bouquets. I looked in the normal spot for my trusty powershot but it wasn’t there. We all searched high and low, while grandma panicked and repeatedly wanted to know what we were up to. I gave up as it was time to take the flowers figuring I’d find it when we got back.

About ten minutes ago I thought to go outside and try to retrace my steps once again.  I remembered that I had set a magazine on one of the chairs which had a few things that I was planning on showcasing on my blog next week.  A mean and evil light bulb went off when I decided to check if I had set my camera on top of it. Low and behold I found both!  Completely soaked. The camera will not even turn on. Where did all this rain come from? We weren’t expecting anything until the weekend!!!

I read The Secret and the authors tell you to think positive and not worry about things that could happen. This my friends is why I would worry on a daily basis, to make sure things like this never happen. I never fathomed my camera frying in a rain filled thunderstorm!

Whelp, this means I have to get a new camera. To those of you who know about my existing etsy shop, please tell your friends, family, coworkers, etc!!!! 🙂

Any tips on what my next camera should be?

Needless to say, I will be postponing the opening of my shop until I can take photos of my new merchandise.

"You can talk without saying a thing. I don't ever want to be that type of person." Charles Barkley “You can talk without saying a thing. I don’t ever want to be that type of person.” Charles Barkley

8 Responses

  1. i purchased a nikon d60 about a month ago and love it.

  2. oh no! So sorry to hear about the camera. but I do have to say Canon ALL THE WAY lady! 😉 haha.

  3. Ohhhh, I’m so, so sorry to hear about the camera death… Does it help to know that you’re not alone and this could have happened to any of us? I hope the next one is so handy and lovely that you can safely transport it in your pocket! 🙂

  4. Soooooooo very sorry to hear about your camera! As you know, I just got an Olympus, so I’m still playing with it. What kind of camera are you looking for? A compact or SLR? If I were you, I’d go with an SLR. There’s so much more you can do with them, and there are many excellent ones on the market right now (I have a Sony Alpha 100). That being said, I also think a compact camera is an excellent idea. I don’t always want to be lugging around my Alpha, and sometimes I see something at work or in the car, so I can just whip out my compact camera and capture it that way. Hence the Olympus purchase. And that one is replacing my Kodak V550, which died in Hawaii on my honeymoon. It was an excellent little camera but it sucked through the batteries like nobody’s business. I think that was my one complaint about it. So we’ll see how the Olympus does.

    Well, email me if you have any questions 🙂

  5. is it not working at all???? i know you were waiting to see if it would work after it dried a bit. keep me informed. i love your photos!!!
    callie

  6. oh, that sucks! did you try to get all the water out of it? i heard this story of someone who dropped their cell phone in the toilet and then they put it in a bowl of uncooked rice which sucked out the moisture and then it worked again! may be worth a try!

  7. Well, kiddo,
    It’s awfully hard to see the positive to this string of bad luck. Other than you get to upgrade to a better camera. I am going to be in the market myself as this is a tiny wisp of smoke every time I use the flash. A bit ominous I’m afraid. Go to consumer reports when you do your research as well.
    Lisa & Alfie

  8. I’m so sorry to hear about your camera! It looks like we are in the same situation at the current time. Think they would give us a group discount? Anyone want to get in on this? Ha!

Leave a Reply

