Space Of Your Own

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been in love with Nicky Hilton’s lovely abode since Karen first posted it on Alkemie in February. It’s gorgeous, but most importantly, uniquely her own. If you are a fan of Oprah, and watch it religiously as I do, you know of Nate Berkus. His motto is to find things that bring you joy and make them a part of your space. Other than the great design blogs I frequent, I must say that I blame my new found love with “my space” on this guy. In the past I followed the trends, and when the trends were over with, was left with a bunch of clutter that I’d have to sell for $1, after spending boocoo bucks. Now does that seem practical???? I think not!

If I sound like a frustrated consumer, it’s because I am. I’m more resourceful than I’ve ever been, and I have a newfound love with craigslist for helping me rid myself of useless stuff taking over “my space.”

While browsing In Style yesterday, they posted links from past stories of celebrities homes and where they purchased the goods we so often drool over. Wait I mean I so often drool over.

For instance this lovely Chanel tray that I absolutely love, was purchased by Nicky Hilton at an antiques store in the Hamptons, which she converted it into a side table.

Photo courtesy of In Style

Photo courtesy of In Style

Have you seen Molly Sims place? She purchased these gorgeous chairs and this exquisite Chandelier from a Paris flea market. We are fortunate in my area, as one of the great french antique boutiques has a Paris Flea Market at least twice a year.

Photo courtesy of In Style

Photo courtesy of In Style

And lastly Alicia Silverstone’s table from an antique shop, and her chandelier from a flea market.

Photo courtesy of In Style

Photo courtesy of In Style

Audioslave said it best “to be yourself is all that you can do.” If you’re not just happy in life, but content with your decisions and true to yourself, it shows. With this economic crisis we’re in, now is a perfect time to rid yourself of things that have been holding you back, and keeping you from the life you want to live. Life is stressful, your home shouldn’t be. Look for things that bring you joy, not that keep you guessing. I may not have the rearranging part down, but I finally know what I like, and that’s progress!

13 Responses

  1. oh man …I cannot wait to buy a house and decorate …there’s only so much you want to spend on a rental!!

  2. That tray is the most fabulous thing I have ever seen…

  3. great post! love the chanel tray.
    i so can’t wait to move into my new house!!!!!
    have a great weekend!!

  4. i like what you said here—in the last paragraph. it reminds me of a quote i have in my profile column on my blog.

    “We’re always getting ready to live, but never living.” by Emerson.

    that is a poignant statement at a time like this, no?

  5. omg, you found some amazing pieces. can’t wait to see what you are going to do with the bed & rack. i love finding pieces such as you found and turning them into beauties. your flowers are just lovely. i can’t stand it. they are gorgeous. i was looking at your post of the things you love about cali. you are right, things grow extremely well there. for example, your breath taking flowers. lucky you! have a great weekend.
    kellie

  6. I’m loving Alicia Silverstone’s taste / style!!

  7. That’s exactly how I decorate. I tend to be drawn to certain things, and although they may all be different styles or colors or whatever, when I put them together they all seem to work. And why? Because they are telling a little story about me and who I am. So anything I choose carefully and with love will work nicely together, just as if anyone else did this.

  8. it’s about being creative with a gal’s home. great post. i love it, esp the chanel tray into a side table.

  9. oh, i like that dining room!

  10. Ooooh, it’s all great! But that Chanel tray….I lurrrve it! I still struggle with trying to really identify my true style. I’ve made lots of mistakes in the past because I thought I wanted something that I didn’t.

  11. I extremely liked Molly’s apartment .. I had the issue where they featured her apartment .. one of the best ones I ever seen .. cozy & elegant indeed !

  12. I absolutely love Alicia Silverstone’s setting. Being a Chanel fan, I love NIkki’s tray but I don’t care for B&W rooms, seems too harsh.

  13. i love Molly Sim’s place.The colors,chandelier,fabric on the sofa looks amazing.All photos are great actually, i wish i had that chanel tray.Great post

Leave a Reply

